16th Copper Mountain Conference On

Iterative Methods

Student Paper Competition

Any student or new Ph.D. whose degree was awarded after Jan 1, 2019 is invited to submit a paper to the Student Paper Competition. Submissions should be based on work while done as a full-time student; results after graduation are not eligible. Papers should contain original, unpublished work; however, submissions presenting analysis/results taken in part from recently submitted papers under review (but not already accepted for publication) will be considered. In addition, all papers submitted should represent the work and writing of the student submitting the paper, developed in collaboration with any named advisors/collaborators. Proofreading and editing by senior contributors is allowed, but contributions must be written primarily by the student author. Student papers must be formatted according to the template provided (below), with no changes in margins, font sizes, etc. Contributions may be at most 10 pages long, including all figures and references. Papers submitted that do not follow these requirements will not be considered for the competition.

The template and format for the student paper competition are listed at https://github.com/copper-multigrd-conference/student-paper. The template uses the SIAM article class; specific steps to format the submission can befound in the README.

Lodging expenses may be awarded (for students currently attending a U.S. university), subject to funding. Student paper winners will have priority. Students seeking support should email the conference coordinator, Annette Anthony (annetteFanthony@gmail.com) for more information.

How To Participate

Student paper submission involves two steps with different deadlines.

  • First, you must submit an abstract for the student paper by December 13, 2019. Please login to EasyChair (or create an account if you do not have one), and go to submissions for CM2018:
    Make sure you click on the Student Paper Competition track.

  • Second, you will submit the student paper by January 10, 2020. Please visit again EasyChair, and locate your abstract submission. Then on the upper right corner select "Add a file". This will lead you to a prompt to upload your paper. The paper must be in PDF form.

    Note: paper submissions will not be allowed without an abstract submission by the first deadline.

    Previous Student Paper Competition Winners

    Tyler Chen
    Oliver Krzysik
    Alexis Montoison
    Daniel Fortunato
    Peter Ohm
    Pieterjan Robbe
    Steven Goldberg
    Junyuan Lin
    Tengfei Su
    Alyson Fox
    Alexander Howse
    Peiyao Luo
    Sarah Gaaf
    Kookjin Lee
    Johann Rudi
    Alessio Spantini
    Simon Baumann
    Fei Cao
    Markus Huber
    Jessica Bosch
    Sarah Gaaf
    Scott Ladenheim
    Manda Winlaw
    Siegfried Cools
    Stephanie Friedhoff
    Delyan Kalchev
    Jennifer Pestana
    Umberto Villa
    Minghao Wu
    Yao Chen
    Lei Tang
    Eran Treister
    Tyrone Rees
    Artem Napov
    Donghui Chen
    Andrew Gordon
    Killian Miller
    Eran Treister
    Liuqiang Zhong
    Andrew Barker
    Melina Freitag
    Stefan Wild
    Fei Xue
    Hengguang Li
    Christian Mense
    Hisham Zubair
    Sue Dollar
    Elena Virnick
    Haim Waisman
    Bram Metsch
    Haim Waisman
    Michael Bronstein
    Ruth Holland
    Andrei Draganescu
    Yair Koren
    Gregory Dardyk
    Rima Gandlin
    Oren Livne
    Scott MacLachlan
    Luke Olson
    Tim Chartier
    Michael Hochstenbach
    Julian Langou
    Chisup Kim
    Markus Kowarshick
    Malik Silva
    Avi Kenigsberg
    Judith Vogel
    Michael Hochstenbach
    Johannas Korsawe
    Roman Wienands
    Shua-hua Chen
    Jonathan Hu
    Jonathan Rochez
    Mark Adams
    Daniel Loghin
    Chih Jen Lin
    Jules Kowtchou
    Boris Diskin
    Jubertus Oswald
    Marc Kuther
    Erick Sterner