Lodging and conference expenses may be awarded, subject to NSF funding. We cannot guarantee any student funding at this time. Student paper winners will have priority should funds become available.

Postdocs are not considered "students" for this competition, nor are they eligible for student registration fees.

Students seeking support should email the conference coordinator, Annette Anthony for more information.


Any student or new Ph.D. whose degree was awarded after Jan 1, 2014 is eligible to submit a paper. Papers must contain original unpublished research due mainly to the student. These papers must be received before January 2, 2015. The student must be the primary author and the paper may be no more than 10 pages in length.

The paper must be emailed as an attachment in PDF format to and identified in the email as an entry for the 2015 student paper competition. In addition to emailing the paper, an abstract for the paper must be submitted through our Abstract Submission form. Sending only an abstract is unacceptable. A panel of judges will determine the best papers.

Additional information on submitting a student paper for the competition can be found here

Past Student Winners

2014 2013 2012
Jessica Bosch
Sarah Gaaf
Scott Ladenheim
Manda Winlaw
Siegfried Cools
Stephanie Friedhoff
Delyan Kalchev
Jennifer Pestana
Umberto Villa
Minghao Wu
2011 2010 2009
Yao Chen
Lei Tang
Eran Treister
Tyrone Rees
Artem Napov
Donghui Chen
Andrew Gordon
Killian Miller
Eran Treister
Liuqiang Zhong
2008 2007 2006
Andrew Barker
Melina Freitag
Stefan Wild
Fei Xue
Hengguang Li
Christian Mense
Hisham Zubair
Sue Dollar
Elena Virnick
Haim Waisman
2005 2004 2003
Bram Metsch
Haim Waisman
Michael Bronstein
Ruth Holland
Andrei Draganescu
Yair Koren
Gregory Dardyk
Rima Gandlin
Oren Livne
Scott MacLachlan
Luke Olson
2002 2001 2000
Tim Chartier
Michael Hochstenbach
Julian Langou
Chisup Kim
Markus Kowarshick
Malik Silva
Avi Kenigsberg
Judith Vogel
Michael Hochstenbach
Johannas Korsawe
1999 1998 1997
Roman Wienands
Shua-hua Chen
Jonathan Hu
Jonathan Rochez
Mark Adams
Daniel Loghin
Chih Jen Lin
Jules Kowtchou
Boris Diskin
Jubertus Oswald
Marc Kuther
Erick Sterner